ILLINOIS SEED TO SALE TRACEABILITY
Created to provide helpful information about the Illinois Cannabis Industry.
BioTrackTHC is the Illinois Official State Cannabis Traceability System
CANNABIS LICENSE INFO
Information will be updated here as it becomes available. Check back for updates! Please note; while we aim to keep this pages fully up to date with the latest information, cannabis laws are always changing. We encourage you to verify these rules and regulations in the official legal text, which we’ve linked throughout the page for your convenience.
- Patients and Caregivers
- Growers and Cultivators
Patients and Caregivers
Qualifying Conditions for Illinois Medical Cannabis Patients are determined by the state; you can petition to have conditions added to the list of qualifying conditions here.
Caregivers grow and process cannabis on behalf of patients. They cannot charge for cannabis, only recoup the costs of goods.
Current Estimated Patient Counts: 15,900 (updated 3/27/2017)
How can I get an Illinois Medical Cannabis Card?
Minor Qualifying Patients – Please scroll down.
To qualify for a patient registry identification card, a qualifying patient must:
- Be a resident of the State of Illinois at the time of application and remain a resident during participation in the program;
- Have a qualifying debilitating medical condition (see below);
- Have a signed physician certification (unless you are a veteran receiving medical care at a VA facility);
- Complete the fingerprint-based background check within 30 days of submitting your application and not have been convicted of an excluded offense (a felony under the Illinois Controlled Substances Act, Cannabis Control Act, or Methamphetamine Control and Community Protection Act, or similar provisions in a local ordinance or other jurisdiction), unless the Department waives such a conviction(s);
- Be at least 18 years of age;
- Not hold a school bus permit or Commercial Driver’s License; and
- Not be an active duty law enforcement officer, correctional officer, correctional probation officer, or firefighter.
Registered medical cannabis patients must select a dispensary to purchase their medical cannabis from. Here is an updated list of registered dispensaries in Illinois.
Physician Written Certification Physician Certifications completed on behalf of qualifying patients applying to the Illinois Department of Public Health, Medical Cannabis Registry Program, shall be provided to the applicant for submission with the application for a registration card. As of June 2018, Physicians no longer need to submit the Physician Certification directly to the Department via mail or email. Whether or not a physician chooses to provide a written physician certification is up to the healthcare practitioner.
Illinois Department of Public Health
Division of Medical Cannabis
535 W. Jefferson Street
Springfield, IL 62761
Illinois Qualifying Medical Patients must adhere to a background check, which is conducted using a Fingerprint Background check along with the submitted photo with your application.
Does my condition qualify for Medical Cannabis in Illinois?
- Agitation of Alzheimer’s disease
- Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS)
- Arnold-Chiari malformation
- Chronic inflammatory demyelinating polyneuropathy
- Crohn’s disease
- CRPS (complex regional pain syndrome Type II)
- Fibrous Dysplasia
- Hepatitis C
- Interstitial cystitis
- Multiple Sclerosis
- Muscular Dystrophy
- Myasthenia Gravis
- Nail-patella syndrome
- Parkinson’s disease
- Post-Concussion Syndrome
- Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD)
- Reflex sympathetic dystrophy
- Residual limb pain
- Rheumatoid arthritis
- Seizures (including those characteristic of Epilepsy)
- Severe fibromyalgia
- Sjogren’s syndrome
- Spinal cord disease (including but not limited to arachnoiditis)
- Spinal cord injury is damage to the nervous tissue of the spinal cord with objective neurological indication of intractable spasticity
- Spinocerebellar ataxia
- Tarlov cysts
- Tourette syndrome
- Traumatic brain injury
- Cachexia/wasting syndrome
Medical Cannabis Registration Fees in Illinois:
- $100 – 1-Year Registry Card
- $200 – 2-Year Registry Card
- $250 – 3-Year Registry Card
Reduced Application Fees – Patients receiving Social Security Disability Income (SSDI) or Supplemental Security Income (SSI) and veterans may be eligible for a reduced application fee:
- $50 – 1-Year Registry Card
- $100 – 2-Year Registry Card
- $125 – 3-Year Registry Card
How can a minor apply for Medical Cannabis in Illinois?
Minors are subject to a $250 fee for a 3-year registry and are required to have a designated caregiver; one caregiver is included at no charge in the application. Patients may add a second caregiver for a fee of $750 by completing a caregiver application. Qualifying patients under the age of 18 are not required to submit a photo or undergo a fingerprint background check.
A physician certification is required as well as a reviewing physician certification.
If a qualifying minor patient turns 18 while their registry identification card is still active, they may apply for an adult registry identification card immediately or during the normal renewal period.
The designated caregiver is required to be specified for a qualifying patient under the age of 18:
- A qualifying patient under 18 years of age may identify two designated caregivers if both biological parents or two legal guardians have significant decision-making responsibilities over the qualifying patient; or
- If only one biological parent or legal guardian has significant decision-making responsibilities for the qualifying patient under 18 years of age, then a second designated caregiver may be identified.
Caregivers of registered qualifying minor patients are only able to purchase medical cannabis-infused products from registered dispensing organizations; other types of medical cannabis products are not permitted.
How can I become a Caregiver in Illinois?
If your qualifying medical condition restricts you from being able to purchase cannabis by yourself, or you’re a qualifying medical patient under the age of 18, a caregiver may be designated to assist you with purchasing. Simply fill out a Designated Caregiver Application and submit the required documentation with your patient application. Patients under the age of 18 are allowed to register 2 designated caregivers for a fee.
This Illinois cannabis resource guide was created to provide relative information for both potential applicants and current BioTrackTHC cannabis software users.